git: sparsecheckout: Partially pull a repo

So I got this Firefox Device (called Intex Cloud Fx) a couple of weeks back but still couldn’t switch to it (the cold turkey way) as the keyboard application is still in its infancy and I can barely type on QWERTY anymore (long sentence?)!

I decided to dive right into it. I spent my weekend trying to understand the OS better and managed to push some test applications to the device (and they worked! And I could even debug them from my browser! Cool stuff!).

The end game (more like the next goal) is to get/create a keyboard app which has the placement of keys that my mind would understand. (Think: Colemak)

To do that, I started looking around for examples and that’s when I found something and forked it immediately 🙂  test-keyboard-app

To pull that repository on my laptop was truly intimidating (it’s a full blown Operating System after all). That’s when I found out what magic git sparsecheckout could do.


$ git init repo

$ cd repo/

$ git remote add -f origin https://github.com/nikunjlahoti/gaia.git

# Updating origin
# remote: Counting objects: 356086, done.
# remote: Compressing objects: 100% (105268/105268), done.
# remote: Total 356086 (delta 245156), reused 356086 (delta 245156)
# Receiving objects: 100% (356086/356086), 817.56 MiB | 892.00 KiB/s, done.
# Resolving deltas: 100% (245156/245156), done.

$ git config core.sparsecheckout true
# Specifying the intention now

$ echo "dev_apps/test-keyboard-app/" >> .git/info/sparse-checkout
# list of directories to be included

$ git pull origin master
# From https://github.com/nikunjlahoti/gaia
# * branch master -> FETCH_HEAD

$ ls -a
dev_apps .git

# voila

#NoteToSelf #LetTheFunBegin

One thought on “git: sparsecheckout: Partially pull a repo

Leave a Reply

